2023 Rhode Island Sea Dogs Win Ninth Consecutive 30+ Title in Rhode Island MSBL

Rhode Island MSBL, 30+ Division


Sea Dogs 15, Padres 2 (Game four in best of five championship series)


‘Sea Dogs Claim Ninth Consecutive Championship’


The Rhode Island MSBL 30+ division championship saw the nine-time champion Sea Dogs take on the Padres, champions of the regular season, in a best-of-five series. Having a first-round bye, the Padres held off a tough Mariners ball club in the division semifinals, winning the best of three series in three games. The Sea Dogs won their semifinal series against last year’s runner-up, Providence Sharks in two straight games, setting the stage for this season’s championship. 


Game one saw the Sea Dogs’ bats explode for 11 runs while pitcher CJ Tsoumakas stymied the Padres, holding them to three hits and one run earning the 11-1 victory.


The bats didn’t slow down in game two for the Sea Dogs. Led by an offense spearheaded by the entire Sea Dogs offense, pitcher Karney Boff kept the Padres at bay and helped the Dogs earn the game-two victory, 13-3. 


In game three, the Padres got off the mat and showed that this series was far from over. The Padres frustrated the high-scoring Sea Dogs offense all game, delivering an 8-4 victory.


In game four, however, the Sea Dogs would not be denied. Sea Dogs pitcher CJ Tsoumakas once again delivered a dominant performance, sealing the victory for the Sea Dogs, 15-2. The Sea Dogs offense was led all series by Jay Martin, Taylor Cacciola, Tom Koch, Harrison Barlow, Josh Ferreira, and Rob Reyes with solid contributions from Shawn Rogers, Jake Ferreira, along with Jared Tinkham and Jared Rossi


Congratulations goes out to player/manager Nelson Morales and the entire Padres team on a terrific season and regular season championship. 


Congratulations also goes out to player/manager Kevin Curt and the Sea Dogs team. With this victory, the Dogs marked their ‘9th consecutive championship’ in the 30 division!