2023 D-Backs Take Two of Three from Penguins to Capture 18-Over President’s Cup Title in North Texas (Dallas MSBL)

North Texas Amateur Baseball League (Dallas MSBL), 18+ President’s Cup

Texas D-Backs 6, Penguins 3

Submitted by Shawn Lee, North Texas League President

The North Texas Amateur Baseball League LogoFor the Open (18+) President’s Cup, which featured eight teams that finished outside of the top four teams, the teams battled in a double-elimination tournament. Teams battled through winners and loser’s brackets, with the number one-seeded, Texas D-Backs falling to the third-seeded Dallas Penguins in the semifinals by a score of 9 to 1.

After battling The Old Fashioneds with a 5 to 4 win in the loser’s bracket, the D-Backs earned a second chance to face the team that sent them to the elimination round. Managed by Garrett Puyear, the D-Backs rallied and beat the Penguins by a score of 5 to 2, to force a second (or third technically) and final game. The D-Backs went on to win the final game by a score of 6 to 3 to earn the President’s Cup in the team’s first season playing Dallas MSBL.

The D-Backs finished with an overall record of 13-11-1, while the Penguins finished with an overall record of 10-11-3. Congratulations to the Texas D-Backs and Manager, Garrett Puyear.