2022 Sea Dogs Post Amazing Eight Consecutive Titles in Rhode Island MSBL 30+ Division

Rhode Island MSBL, 30+ Division

Rhode Island Sea Dogs 5, Providence Sharks 3 (Game two of championship series sweep)

‘Sea Dogs Log Astonishing Eight Consecutive Titles’

Submitted by Kevin Curt, Sea Dogs manager

For the third consecutive year, the 2022 regular season champion Providence Sharks, met up with the seven-time defending 30+ Rhode Island MSBL Champions, Rhode Island Sea Dogs. The past two post-season meetings saw both teams play a hard-fought best-of-three series. This year’s championship would be no exception.

With both teams locked in a 1-1 battle, the game needed to be continued at a later date due to darkness. It was picked up in the top of the 12th inning with the Sea Dogs up to bat. Harrison Barlow led the 12th with a line single to right. After Jarred Tinkham moved him to second with a sacrifice bunt, an error allowed Barlow to score from second, plating the second run. The Sharks were not able to muster anything in their half of the 12th, as game one went to the Sea Dogs, 2-1

Game two started immediately after the conclusion of game one. The Sharks jumped out to a 3-0 lead then Jay Martin got the Dogs right back in it with a two-run double in the seventh, making the score 3-2. The Sea Dogs were not done.

After tying the score in the eighth, base hits by Jake Ferreira and Tom Koch put two runners on for Taylor Cacciola. Cacciola launched a mammoth two-run double, clearing the bases and giving the Sea Dogs a 5-3 lead, a lead they would not relinquish. Karney Boff, Harrison Barlow, Bob Barton, Chis Zervas, and CJ Silva were the pitching heroes for the Sea Dogs all series long, getting outs in key situations!

This is the 8th consecutive championship for The Sea Dogs and 9th title overall!