2022 Mustangs Secure ‘Three-Peat’ Championship in 50+ Division at DCMSBL

DCMSBL, 50+ Division

Mustangs 7, Yuengling Swallows 0

‘Shutout Victory Caps ‘Three-Peat’ Undefeated Season’

Submitted by Mike LaComb, Mustangs manager

The 50 Mustangs capped off a perfect season in 2022 as they went undefeated wire to wire in the DCMSBL league’s regular season schedule, then the playoffs, and finally the championship.

In the championship game, Buzzy Jackson pitched seven innings of shutout ball, without walking a batter, to get the 7 to 0 win over the upstart Yuengling Swallows. Mark Gleason and Kai Schjang came out of the bullpen to each pitch one of the final innings.

At the plate, Chris Dunn had three RBIs with a bases-loaded triple. Greg Sadosuk scored two runs and made several great defensive plays at third base to keep the opponent from scoring. Ron Barckhoff, Vince Towns, Alex Krupenchenkov, Bill Dornbusch, and Dave Kaufmann all chipped in with key hits.

The Mustangs’ defense, captained by Ron Barckhoff at short, sparkled, as they turned three double plays on the day. Ken Prohoniak turned in a spectacular game at first base, assisting in over half of the opposing outs recorded in the game. Mike McConnell and Bill Dornbusch caught the shutout.

On the other side of the field, Bill Murphy and Steve Nix held the Mustangs’ offense, while Keith Saxton and Dan Potosky each had two hits for the Swallows.