2021 Sea Dogs Post Amazing Seventh Consecutive Title in Rhode Island MSBL 30+ Division

Rhode Island MSBL, 30+ Division

Rhode Island Sea Dogs 8, Providence Sharks 3 (Game two in best of three series sweep)

‘Sea Dogs Log Amazing Seven Consecutive Titles’

Submitted by Kevin Curt, Sea Dogs manager

This year’s 30+ RIMSBL championship was a repeat of last year’s. The 2021 regular-season champion, Providence Sharks took on the six-time 30+ champion, Rhode Island Sea Dogs

Game one was a nail-biter, seeing the Sharks starting pitcher Marwing Peña matchup against the Sea Dogs starter, CJ Silva. The game was tied 3-3 until a three-run mammoth home run by Jay Martin put the Sea Dogs in the lead 6-3. The Sharks however would not go down without a fight, scoring two runs in the bottom of the ninth. Closer Harrison Barlow came on with one out in the ninth, inducing a double-play and sealing the 6-5 win for the Sea Dogs. 

Game two saw the Sea Dogs jump out to a 5-0 first-inning lead, and never look back. Riding the arm of Chris Zervas and the bat of Jeff Gaccione (solo home run), the Sea Dogs were able to hold off the Sharks 8-3. Lou Dellaporta sparked a comeback for the Sharks in the seventh inning with a huge run-producing single but Bob Barton was able to hold off the Sharks threat, pitching two solid innings of relief before giving way to Barlow to close out the series in the ninth. 

This is the Sea Dogs’ seventh consecutive championship and ninth overall.