2021 Rattlers Bite Expos for ‘Back to Back’ 40+ Championship in Ohio MSBL

Ohio MSBL, 40+ Division

Rattlers 11, RE/MAX Expos 6

‘Rattlers Go ‘Back to Back’ for 40+ Title’

Submitted by Nick Loukas, Rattlers manager

September 7, 2021 – For the second consecutive season, the Rattlers defeated their rivals the RE/MAX Expos for the Ohio MSBL 40+ Division championship at Thurman Munson Memorial Stadium.  The Rattlers were able to overcome the Expos always solid play and their own fielding lapses, which led to four unearned runs, to secure the victory. 

The Rattlers were again led by ace Dave Ford who pitched a complete game for the victory (9 IP, 6 R, 2 ER, 6 H, 4 BB, 8 K).  Trailing 5-6 in the top of the ninth, the Rattlers bats came alive to put up six runs highlighted by Brian McGalliard’s triple that plated the tying and go-ahead runs.  According to teammate Dan Niemczura, “That is the furthest ball I’ve seen Mac hit in the 20 years I’ve played with him.”  Niemczura (4-5, 2B, 3B, 5 RBI, 2 R) himself came through later in the ninth with a bases-clearing double to add insurance runs. 

Others having big games for the Rattlers’ offense were Ryan Taylor (3-4, 2B, 1 RBI, 3 R, SB) and Paul Hill (2-5, 2 2B, 1 RBI, 1 R).  The other members of the champion Rattlers include John Toth, Nick Loukas, Dan Flick, Dusty Loy, Chuck Miller, Matt Flanagan, Ingram Liljestrand, Dave Smith, Jason Headlind, Phill Petrick, Mike Beshore, Jason Bogavich, and Brian Suddeth.