2021 Old Fashioned Sweep Tigers in 18+ Open Division Championship Series in North Texas Amateur Baseball League (Dallas)

North Texas Amateur Baseball League (Dallas), 18+ Open Division

Old Fashioneds 4, Andrews Co. Tigers 2 (Game two in best of three series sweep)

Submitted by Mark Shonka, manager

After a very rough start to the NTABL 2021 season, The Old Fashioneds kicked, clawed, and battled their way back into the fight midway through the campaign. Finding a winning formula heading into the playoffs – and fueled by a cameo appearance by none other than Roger Dorn – the ‘Neds started firing on all cylinders and earned their way into the President’s Cup Tournament Championship.

Game one delivered two stellar pitching performances from both teams, including a complete game from ‘Neds Justin Russell. It was a low-scoring affair with the scoreboard all knotted up at two runs each heading into the top of the seventh inning. And that’s when the magic began.

After clutch singles by Reid Hendrix and Chris Corbeille, Josh West showed amazing plate discipline with a 9-pitch walk. Then, with two outs and the bases juiced, Jimmy von Thron blasted the first pitch of his at-bat over the left-field fence. Grand slam, thank you, ma’am! It was all Old Fashioneds from there.

Game two proved to be yet another great matchup. Garrett Vascil got the starting nod on the bump and completed five beautiful innings with 0 earned runs. Great hitting and base running from Ricky Sanchez and Mike Gill got the ‘Neds on the board early. Clutch fielding, led by the rock behind the plate, Cory Reynolds, allowed the ‘Neds to keep an amazing Tigers offense at bay. Cory added a pair of hits and collected yet another RBI to boost his already incredible performance. Hanging on to a narrow lead, Jeff Andersen crafted a legendary 4-inning save performance. When the ‘Neds ran out to mob the mound after recording the final out, the scoreboard read 4-2 and the champions’ faces shined with victory.

Hats off to a great Tigers team that made for a competitive and fun championship series! 

Most Valuable MomentJimmy von Thron (game one grand slam)

Most Valuable PlayerCory Reynolds