2021 HC Phillies Capture ‘Three-Peat’ in 25+ Division of Indiana Baseball League

Indiana Baseball League, 25+ Division

HC Phillies 16, Circle City Stealth 4

‘Teall Stars at the Plate and on the Bump’

Submitted by Matt Longfellow, Phillies manager

The HC Phillies completed the ‘3-Peat’ by defeating the Circle City Stealth 16-4 in the 2021 Indiana Baseball League MSBL Championship!

Eric Teall led the Phillies to their third straight back-to-back-to-back championship and fourth title in five years. Teall went 4 for 5 with four RBI at the plate while also tossing a complete game gem with 15 K’s in the 2021 IBL MSBL Championship. Matt Pulley went 4 for 5 with three RBI while Scott Kessler, Chris Cole, Clayton Jones, Devin Shaffer, and Andrew Comp added two hits apiece to lead the Phillies!

The HC Phillies finished the season 16-3 overall and had a record number of players named to the 2021 IBL All-Star team, including Matthew Alspaugh, Scott Kessler, Ben “The Professor” Kennedy, Ben Stenger, Devin Shaffer, Chris Cole, Chandler Farrow, Eric Teall, Jeff Cardenas, Clayton Jones, Matt Pulley, and Adam Wheeler!

After receiving a bye through the first round, the Phillies defeated the Indy Vipers 7-6 in an extra-innings thriller in the semifinals. Ben Stenger, Matt Pulley, and Ben Kennedy led the way on the mound and Chandler Farrow came through with the walk off single in the 11th on a fractured ankle. Down 6-0 early, the Phillies held the Vipers scoreless for nine straight innings, with Stenger throwing three innings, Pulley five, and Kennedy one to complete the comeback!

In eight seasons, the HC Phillies have appeared in five championship games, winning four titles overall in 2017, 2019, 2020, and 2021!  In addition, the HC Phillies have had four MVP winners, five Cy Young award winners, and 76 total All-Star selections in their eight seasons of existence!