2021 Bridge City Athletics Shutout Mariners for 35+ National Title in Hudson Valley (NY) MSBL

Hudson Valley (NY) MSBL, 35+ National Division

Bridge City Athletics 9, NY Mariners 0

‘Petrosino Tosses Complete Game Championship Shutout’

The Bridge City Athletics won their fifth Hudson Valley MSBL championship in the last six years by defeating the NY Mariners 9-0 in a decisive Game three. Ace Jim Petrosino threw a complete game shutout, the exclamation point on his ninth MSBL Cy Young Award. The offense banged out 16 hits in the game, including three each from second baseman Nick DeMarco and catcher Mark Petrosino. The Athletics defense was highlighted by a rally-killing 9-3 assist-putout from right fielder AJ Torre. Torre’s assist erased a potential 2-rbi single to end the fourth inning.

For the season, the A’s used a fantastic combination of pitching and defense to go 17-3-1, including playoffs. The club allowed just 57 runs in their 21 games. The Athletics were led by pitcher Jim Petrosino, who finished the season 11-2 with a 1.69 ERA. Alex Forster was an excellent #2 in the rotation, going 4-1 with a 4.76 ERA. Defensively the club was as solid as you’ll find in amateur baseball. Their combination of play-making and consistency created a very difficult run-scoring environment for the opposition, as proven by the 2.7 runs allowed per game.

Mark Petrosino led the 2021 offense against a league loaded with quality pitching. The 2021 MVP award winner had 20 RBI out of the cleanup spot, consistently coming through with clutch base hits. Leadoff hitter and center fielder, Dan Slate, had another monster season, racking up 27 hits, 23 runs, and 19 stolen bases. Four-time MSBL MVP, Nick DeMarco, had 20 hits including four triples. Manager/shortstop, Sven Jenkins, reached 20 hits, 15 runs, and logged a .557 OBP. Left fielder, Chris LaForge, and third baseman, Kris Anderson, both had huge postseasons. The duo combined for 18 hits, 12 runs, and 9 RBI in the five playoff games.

Comments from league president Rick Stockfield Post Season Accolades: The HVMSBL celebrates its post-season award winners selected by its players and managers.  35+ MVPs Mark Petrosino (National) and Joe Mercurio (American), 35+ Cy Youngs Jim Petrosino (National) and Ryan Ball (American), 45+ MVPs Jim Niwinski and Sean Lyons, 45+ Cy Youngs Phil Geary and Rick Stockfield.  Manager of the Year Peter Johnson (Reds).  Sportsmen of the Year – Cordal Johnson, George Haight, Mike Zucarro, Lee Carilli, and Ray Karst.

The League through its 3 Up 3 Down Organization raised $22,536 for youth baseball and those with developmental disabilities in 2021. 

The league celebrated its 31st year and it didn’t disappoint!