2020 Mariners Cop ‘Back to Back’ Titles in 35+ Division of Arizona MSBL

Arizona MSBL, 35+ Division

Mariners 10, Brewers 6

‘Pitching by Committee Secures Championship Drive’

Submitted by Kevin Wilkison, Mariners Co-Manager

The Mariners won ‘Back to Back’ titles, and their third Arizona MSBL Championship in the past four years on September 28th, having won in 2017, 2019 and now 2020.

The Mariners finished the regular season as the #3 seed in the 35 division with an 8-3-1 record. In the first round of the playoffs, the Mariners dispatched the Savages behind a combined four-hitter from Rick Shaw, Chris Best and Jamie Wicks. The hitting was led by Sam Oldenberg, Antone Biondo, Wicks and Bobby Sindelar contributing 15 hits in 17 AB’s. The second round found the divisions #2 seed and equally talented Indians standing in the path to the championship game. This time Jack Spradlin, Anthony Zandonatti and Clint Schambach combined to throw a four-hitter shutting down the Indians 10-4, and setting a date with the division winning and previously unbeaten Brewers (13-0) in the Championship game.

In the final game, the Mariners never trailed jumping on the Brewers from the beginning, scoring two in the first, one in the second, and five in the third staking Spradlin to an 8-1 lead. Spradlin tossed six solid innings to get the win, with Shaw and Schambach pitching the final three innings to shut the door. Offensively, everyone contributed with timely hitting and base running. The Brewers mounted a rally in the bottom of the ninth scoring two runs, but the game ended on a double play with the victorious Mariners posting a 10-6 win and the Championship, ending the Brewers undefeated season.