Posted on

2018 White Sox Make it Nine Titles in a Row in 45+ Division of Chesapeake MSBL

Chesapeake MSBL, 45+ Division

Chesapeake White Sox 9, Chesapeake A’s 3

‘Sox Post Amazing Ninth Consecutive Title’

Submitted by Ron Ebelein, White Sox manager

The Chesapeake White Sox won both the regular season and postseason championship for the ninth consecutive year! The White Sox finished the regular rain shortened season 18-0 while scoring 254 runs and only allowing 75 runs.  They also won the playoff tournament three games to one, beating the Chesapeake A’s 9-3 in the hard fought championship game.

Strong pitching led the way to a successful season. Dave Cross led the team with a 4-0 record followed by Kent Bowles and myself at 3-0. Steve Hoffmann, Rick Cannon and Pat Overton posted a 2-0 record as Earl Gardner and Kevin Williams were both credited with one victory apiece for the regular season. Cannon, Ebelein and Hoffmann picked up wins in the playoffs.

Hoffmann’s performance in the championship game was most impressive, going nine strong innings allowing just three runs on five hits while striking out seven.

Leading the way in hitting was Dave Eason, Brian Green, Cleon Jones, Jeff Pate, Bill Radford, Mark Robey, Doug Rupple, Gerry Shay, Glenn Vance, Wayne Vance, Joe Walsh and Paul Whitlock.

Alex Burnett missed the season serving our country overseas. Bob Engelmeyer and Dub Daniels were on the injured reserve and both are expecting to make a strong return for 2019.

Special thanks goes to statisticians Shannon O’Brien and Linda Ebelein for their many hours of countless support.