New Mexico MSBL

Pirates 7, Colt 45’s 3

Top L-R:Chris Yardman, Richard Morrison, Manager Derek Marrujo, Bryan Deshayes, Aaron Kopaka, Glenn Canales, Eric Sims, Steve Koontz. Bottom L-R: Rich Ulibarri, David Valdez, Ray Valdez, Gabe Maes

‘Morrison Three-Run Dinger Propels Pirates’

Submitted by Chris Maxwell, New Mexico MSBL

The second-seeded Pirates, coached by Derek Marrujo and David Valdez, pulled out a 7-3 win over the top-seeded Colt 45’s to win the 2016 MSBL Championship. Both teams played a brutal schedule to start the season and faced a number of MABL teams that made deep runs in the junior circuit playoffs.

After an 11-8 regular season that came down to the final week to determine playoff seeding, the Pirates completed the playoffs at 4-0 and were able to defeat the top-seed twice over the course of two weeks. In the final, Rich Morrison hit a 3-run home run to support winning pitcher, Bryan Deshayes. For the 45’s, Tom Adams took the loss.