2016 Giants Continue Dominance in 50+ Division of Bay Area MSBL

Bay Area MSBL 50+ Division

Giants 14, Monarchs 13

Top Row L-R: Dan Weller, Bill Magoolaghan, Pat Carroll, Bill Hawkins, Drew Maran, Brian Willis, Ray Allen, Kevin Suzuki. Bottom Row L-R: Mike Miller, Hiroaki Ajari, Mike Wilgus, Tony Kerlegan, Sam Doumanian, Rob Goldstein, Ruben Ponce, John Shea Not Pictured: John Harney, David Schwartz, Charlie Goldberg, Lynn Lefevre, Bill Neale, Owen Seitel, Tony Giannini

‘GIANTS¬†Capture Ninth Bay Area MSBL 45+/50+ Title in 10 years’

Submitted by Pat Carroll, Giants 50+ Manager

The Giants 50+ had their unprecedented 8-Peat (2007 thru 2014) interrupted in 2015, but were able to recapture the title in 2016 with a Championship Game three victory over the Monarchs in the Bay Area MSBL. For the 2016 Championship Game the Giantstrailed 13-7 in the bottom of the ninth inning, but rallied for seven runs to win it 14-13 in dramatic fashion!

Standouts for the Giants included winning pitcher Mike Wilgus and shortstop Dan Weller. Wilgus hurled a complete game and also went 4-5 with two doubles and seven RBI. Weller had a 4-4 day at the plate including a clutch ninth inning double to go with three RBI.

During the ten year history of the BAMSBL’s 45+/50+ Division the Giants have compiled a Win-Loss-Tie record of 146-42-6 on the road to their nine Championships.