New Mexico MABL

Dodgers 9, Reds 6

Top L-R:Ronald Perez, Jesus Marquez, Chris Maxwell, Andrew Tuttle, Dane Johnson, David Bennett, Andrew Pohl, Daniel Candelas. Bottom L-R: Scott Schneider, Daniel Gonzalez, Vernon Koonce, Casey Cusack, Manager Chris Garcia

‘Dodgers Sweep Reds for New Mexico MABL Crown’

Submitted by Chris Maxwell, New Mexico MSBL/MABL

The top-seeded Dodgers, coached by Chris Garcia won their first MABL Championship in the New Mexico MSBL/MABL by completing a two-game sweep of the Reds in a best 2-out-of-3 games series. The Dodgers were making their fourth straight appearance in the final, but had high hopes to not become New Mexico’s version of the Buffalo Bills (1990-1993)! After starting the season 12-0, the Dodgers lost two out of five games and the league standings started to tighten up between the Dodgers, Yankees and the Cyclones. Seeding was determined in the final weeks of the season and the dark horse Reds captured the 4-seed.

Player-Manager Bryan Thomason‘s ‘Big Red Machine’ had a solid run through the playoffs knocking out two early season favorites in the Yankees and Giants, to make the championship series. The first game of the series saw Andrew Pohl earn the win after limiting the Reds to one run in a solid pitching performance on the way to a 7-1 Dodgers victory. Dylan Montano took the loss, but kept the Dodgers off balance early in the game and it was only because of timely, late inning hitting that the Dodgers earned a series edge.

In the second game Daniel Gonzalez out-dueled Asael Cruz, but turned over the reins to Daniel Candelas who picked up the win. The game saw multiple lead changes and seemingly momentum-shifting, back -to-back home runs by Gonzalez and Garcia could not hold up against the aggressive Reds, who were trying to earn a weekend split and push the series to a decisive game three. Patrick Gatewood answered back with a home run of his own, but in the end the Dodgers were able to ride the solid hitting of catcher Andrew Tuttle (5-9, 3R in the two games) to the title with a 9-6 game two win.