2015 Texas Thunder Sweeps HBC for Houston 30+ Spring Championship

Houston Hardball League Spring 30+ Division

Texas Thunder 13, HBC 1

‘MVP Quintana Leads the Way at the Plate’

Contributed by Carlos Ramon, Thunder manager

To have almost tasted victory a few seasons before coming in as an “Expansion Team” in the fall of 2013, it was a tough road getting here again. We were determined to get back to the championship game from our first season against the rival HBC, only to be sent home in the semi-finals twice by the Colt 45’s in the spring of 2014 and the fall of 2014.

This season we were dedicated and focused with one goal in mind, ‘Championship or Bust’! The Texas Thunder took the field and finished the regular season 13-2, 18-3 overall. Daniel Downs and Jason Gantt battled for the batting title while Juan Oliva came in second in home runs. Manager Carlos L. Ramon came in second in RBI’s for the season’s league leaders. Not to be out done, Captain catcher Julio Oliva kept the starting ‘Aces’ in perfect rotation as they led the league in many pitching statistical categories.

After losing the first playoff game of a two game elimination series to the Colt 45’s, and dropping to the loser bracket from the first seed, Texas Thunder fought their way back to the eventual championship game. Sticking to the old cliche “One game at a time” that’s exactly what we did, matching up with our rivals HBC once again! It was our chance to even the score.

The game remained 1 -1 until the fourth inning. A walk and a hit batsman gave Edgar Quintana the opportunity to open the game up with a bases-clearing double. This same situation presented itself in the sixth as E.Q. cleared the bases with a double once again. E.Q., who was the MVP of game two, said “We don’t quit or beat each other up over bad plays or mental mistakes. We pick each other up.”

“0-0!!” is what you can hear manager Carlos L. Ramon telling his guys even though the score was actually 9-1. Lupe Suarez sealed the deal with a base clearing triple to score all that was needed in our 13-1 victory. Keyshane Reed pitched a great game going nine innings with 9 k’s.

Sam Garza, who was MVP of game one of the championship series, said “I love to play for this team, we always play to win”! 

Throughout the 2015 Spring 30+ Championship Season every player on the team played a pivotal role in helping Texas Thunder win this Championship, including Adam Brand, Ryan Heughan, Kevin King, Joel Morales, Mike Black, Jesse Juarez, Travis Connaway and Brandon Melvin.

Championships are earned and never given! We respect our accomplishment and thank Joe Banasik, President of the Houston Hardball League in Houston, TX and MSBL President Steve Sigler for all the hard work they do.

Thanks also to our sponsors RAM-BAT, TEXAS TEE, JERSEY PRO and RAMCO SIGNS.