2015 Mets Topple Rival Pirates in Finals at West-Put (NY) MSBL

West-Put (NY) MSBL Walker Lewis Division

Westchester Mets 13, Shrub Oak Pirates 1

‘FitzMorris Shuts Down Pirates’ Sticks’

Submitted by Bruce Bendish, Mets manager

SHRUB OAK,NY– Under the lights at Lakeland HS on October 7th the Westchester Mets and the Shrub Oak Pirates met for the deciding game of the three game championship series in the West-Put (NY) MSBL. Each team had earlier advanced through the semi-final round, and more recently split a doubleheader in a head to head match up.

The long-time rivals were primed for another close match, but veteran Mets pitcher Doug FitzMorris pitched a masterful nine inning complete game victory. FitzMorris blanked the Pirates through eight innings. He surrendered a lone run in the ninth to cap a 13-1 victory and the Mets second Walker Lewis Division title in two years. FitzMorris’ effort was supported by very solid defensive play, including six double plays turned by Mets infielders Tom Mullen (3B), Chris Meyers (SS), Mike McCarthy (2B) and John Juliano (1B).

The explosive Mets 13 run offensive effort included timely hits by Bill Casey, John Juliano and Flynn Gilden, producing an early 2-0 lead. The Mets added three in the third on consecutive RBI doubles by Gilden, Ed Volpe and McCarthy. In the fourth, Fox walked, Casey reached on an error, Juliano put down a perfect sacrifice bunt and Tom Mullen’s double extended the Mets’ lead to 8-0. In the sixth, Casey doubled, Juliano singled and three errors led to a five-run add-on.

The Pirates lone run in the ninth came when Rod Tomassio led off with a hit, advanced on a passed ball and scored on Frank D’Amelio’s RBI grounder. Pirate starter Matt Olli lasted three-plus innings. He then gave the ball to John Boro who pitched three innings. Bill Demersky closed for the Pirates with two-plus innings of scoreless relief.