2015 Lonestars Back-to-Back Champs in San Antonio 40+ Division

San Antonio MSBL 40+ Division

‘Lonestars Post 18-2 Record for Back-to Back Titles’

Submitted by Bill Rector, Lonestars manager

The San Antonio Lonestars repeated as the 40 and over Champions in the San Antonio MSBL in 2015. The Lonestars finished 18-2 in league play. The Lonestars went 18-0 versus its 40 and over opponents and lost two close games to 30 plus teams in inter-divisional play.

The Lonestars competed in the Texas Cup tournament on the 4th of July winning the 55 and older Division with a 4-1 record. The Lonestars also competed in the San Antonio Labor Day Alamo Classic finishing as the runner up with a 4-1 record in the 55 and older Division. The Lonestars combined record for regular season and tournament play was 26- 4. This was their second year in the SAMSBL.

The Lonestars were led offensively by Jim Gonzales, Phil Underwood, Mike (the Hammer) Baskerville, Bill Rector, Mark Harless, Juan Ahumada and Pat Bernal. On the hill the Lonestars had Lee Mann, Luis Velazquez, Will Martinez, Glen Lane, Walter De laRosa and Kevin Ullrich. The Lonestars defense was anchored by Phil Underwood, Melvin Hayes, Jeff Marley and Jim Gonzales.