2015 Liners Make It ‘Back-to-Back’ in Metro Tulsa Baseball Association

Metro Tulsa Baseball Association

Tulsa Liners 11, Cardinals 8 (10 innings)

‘Tulsa Liners Win Back-to-Back MTBA Championships’

Submitted by Joe Gho, Liners manager

The Tulsa Liners won the 2015 Metro Tulsa Baseball Association (MTBA) Championship for the second consecutive season. The Liners are “back-to-back” champions after also winning the title in 2014. The Liners defeated a tough and talented Cardinals (Smith) team in the League Championship Series that went to three games in the best 2 out of 3.

The Liners, who are managed by Joe Gho, were the #4 seed and opened the league playoffs with a 7-4 win over the Twins #5 seed. Jeff Goodnight pitched a complete game victory in this game and Justin Beal had a 2-run Home Run. Joe Gho contributed three hits in the win.

The Liners next played the #1 seed Diamondbacks in the semi-final game. The Liners defeated the D’Backs 4-3 in a close 10 inning game. During league play, the Liners had not defeated the D’Backs in the three games played against each other. Blair Hamilton had a solo Home Run in the second inning. Jeff Lamb hit one of the most dramatic home runs in Liners history when he hit a 2-run Home Run in the ninth inning to tie the game at 3-3. Josh Beal had the game winning RBI in the 10th inning and also pitched a complete game giving up seven hits and striking out 10.

The #3 seed Cardinals, who are managed by Brandon Smith, reached the League Championship Series by defeating the #6 seed Oilers 13-1 and the #2 seed Cubs 10-4. This led to the best of three championship series.

Game #1: Liners win 9-6

Bo Ekiss pitched into the seventh inning and Jeff Lamb finished up earning the victory. Manager Joe Gho of the Liners had four hits in the game and Cardinal Manager Brandon Smith had three hits. Pitcher CJ Ackerpitched a complete game for the Cardinals.

Game #2: Cardinals win 15-7

Cardinals pitcher Clint Hicks was the winning pitcher while second baseman David Townsend led the hitting with five hits. Liners pitcher Josh Beal took the loss.

Game #3: Liners win 11-8

The Liners won the final game 11-8 in 10 innings in a hard fought, back and forth contest. The Liners scored three runs in the top of the 10th inning and then held the Cardinals scoreless in the bottom half of the inning to win the championship. Justin Beal of the Liners picked up the pitching victory after relieving starter Jeff Goodnight in the seventh inning. Hitting stars for the Liners were Kyle Carpenter, who contributed a 2-run Home Run in the fourth inning and Mike Robinson with four hits. Cardinal’s pitcher Brian Bartlett was the losing pitcher in relief of starter CJ Acker.

The Liners finished the season with a 17-8-1 record while the Cardinals ended at 16-8-1. The Liners have been a member of the league for 27 years and this is their 13th league title.

The MTBA League, led by League President Patrick Macek who also manages the Cubs, had another successful year. The league is hoping to add more teams for next year and looking forward to another highly competitive league for the 2016 season.

Liners team players:

Joe Gho, David Rampey, Mike Eckert, Bob Biskup, Mike Robinson, Tom Dutton, Gary Simpson, Jeff Goodnight, Blair Hamilton, Bo Ekiss, Bob Kolibas, Jeff Lamb, Kyle Carpenter, Justin Beal, Josh Beal, Jeff Giddings, Glenn Haueter, Lynn Haueter