2015 Dodgers Capture ‘Three-Peat’ Title in DC MSBL/MABL 18+ Open Division

DC MSBL/MABL 18+ Open Division

Silver Spring Dodgers 11, NOVA Gridlock 1

Standing L-R: Wes Stonelake, Jeremy Schutt, Matt Herbek, Brandon Dean, Mike Simko, and Patrick Conley. Kneeling L-R: J.T. Williamson, Doug Remer, Daniel Washington, Brian Herbek, and Billy Duvall. Not Pictured: Buddy Claggett, Jeremiah Gorospe, Chris Kees, Matt Kianka, Trevor Snook, Nick Stevens, and Jason Thibeault.

‘Silver Spring Dodgers Win their 9th DC MSBL League Championship!’

Submitted by Patrick Conley, Dodgers manager

The Silver Spring Dodgers won the first two games of a best-of-three series against the NOVA Gridlock to earn their ninth DC MSBL/MABL Championship. The pair of wins capped off an undefeated season, the first in Dodgers history since joining the league.

The Dodgers won the first game of the double-header with a final score of 7 – 1. Starting pitcher J.T. Williamson threw all seven innings, allowing one run and scattering six hits while striking out ten. Jeremy Schutt led the Dodgers offense with three hits, followed by Doug Remer and Daniel Washington with two hits each. Billy Duvall and Wes Stonelake each had a double, while Brian Herbek, Matt Herbek, and Mike Simko added one hit apiece.

The Dodgers completed the sweep of the double-header winning game two with a score of 11 – 1. Starting pitcher Matt Herbek pitched a complete game, allowing just four hits and one run while striking out eight. Brian Herbek led the offensive attack in game two with a home run and three RBI’s. J.T. Williamson added two hits, followed by Daniel Washington, Wes Stonelake, and Mike Simko with one hit each.

The Dodgers 2015 DC MSBL Championship completed their third three-peat, winning in 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, and 2015.