2015 Bison Tame Tigers to Capture Central Ohio MABL Title

Central Ohio MABL 18+

Bison Baseball Club 5, Dublin Tigers 2

‘Bison Win Title in 20th Year of Central Ohio MABL’

Submitted by Charles McCroskey, Bison manager

Game 1- Bison 4 Tigers 0
Game 2- Bison 5 Tigers 2

2015 was the 20th season of play for the Central Ohio MABL. The Bison Baseball Club returned to the Championship Series defeating the Dublin Tigers for the 2015 League Championship, their first title since 2007 and fourth title overall. The 2015 Championship tied the Westerville Titans and Columbus Knights with four rings each.

Wayne Lewis shut down a very good hitting Tigers team by pitching a complete game shutout in Game one. Lewis scattered six hits, walked two and struck-out five. The offense was led by Brian Delucia who broke a scoreless game in the bottom of the sixth with a 3-run home run after two-out singles by Mike Spiert and Aaron Geis. After the Delucia home run, Tyler Nicholson singled, stole second base and scored on a throwing error.

The Bison took the lead in Game two when with two outs in the third, Kyle Stoughton hit a 2-run double. After a Brian Delucia single, Charles McCroskey drove in Stoughton and Delucia giving the Bison a four-run inning, all with two outs. Stoughton added another run with a two-out single in the fifth. Aaron Geis started Game two on the mound and only allowed one hit and two walks through 2 2/3 innings before arm soreness gave way to Brian Delucia in relief. Delucia was effective against the Tigers, allowing two runs on five hits, a walk, and struck-out three.

On the way to the 2015 League Championship, the Bison defeated the Columbus Barracudas in the Divisional Semifinals Series 2-1 and then beat the Columbus Warriors in the National Division Championship Series 2-1.

Wayne Lewis and Brian Delucia were named Co-MVP’s of the League Championship Series for their performances, but this Championship was a complete team effort as every Bison contributed with their play.