2014 Indians Sneak Past Mariners to Capture Chesapeake 35+ Crown

Chesapeake MSBL 35+ Division

Indians 8, Mariners 7

Front Row Kneeling (l-r): Jose Molina, Myron Fuller, Cardell Sample, Derric Johnson, Aaron Boston, Hasan McMillan. Standing (l-r): Wally Emerich, Enoch Wen, Ed Nottingham, Dackren Coleman, Eric Tharrington, Earl Gardner, William “Chili” Mobley, Craig Krause, Andy Hudak. Absent from photo: Donald Goodman, Stan Tukes, Shawn Tipton, Robert Duckett, Craig Krause, Dackren Coleman, Derric Johnson Jermaine Johnson, and Jon Santos.

Submitted by Duane Cordrey, Chesapeake President

The 2014 Chesapeake MSBL 35+ Division was very competitive throughout the season and completed the regular season with a three-way tie for first place and fourth place determined by 0.008 percentage points with final standings determined in the last week of the season with tie-breaker criteria used to determine the final regular season standings.The Chesapeake Nationals took the regular season title, followed by the Chesapeake Tigers, Chesapeake Indians and Chesapeake Mariners.

Special recognition is given to Chesapeake Mariners team manager Lee Nelson, who led his team to its 400th win in league play. This milestone is a significant accomplishment for a team that has been managed by Lee for more than 20 years.

The Chesapeake Indians got back to their winning ways by claiming another Chesapeake MSBL 35+ Division Championship under the leadership of first year manager, Aaron Boston, along with his assistant manager Eric Tharrington. The Indians started the season with a dismal 0 – 3 start to the season but mustered together to finish the regular season as a third place team with an overall regular season record of 17 – 7. The Indians went 3 – 1 in post-season playoffs by defeating Lee Nelson’s Chesapeake Mariners in the title game with an exciting finish to the season by a final score of 8-7.