2013 35+ National Division


Oskin, Angels grab second title in three yearsBy Alejandro Rodriguez, MSBLNational.com

LA QUINTA – Despite losing their starting pitcher after one inning, the Montebello Angels pulled out an 8-5 win over the Desert Pirates to claim the 35 National Division crown at the MSBL’s 2013 Desert Classic in Palm Springs.

The win avenged a 4-2 loss to the Pirates in round robin play.

Starting pitcher Eric Orue yielded two runs in the first inning before being pulled with a sore elbow. He remained in the game as a designated hitter and finished the game 2-for-2.

Trailing 2-0 entering the bottom of the fifth inning, the Angels finally got on the board thanks to a great display of small ball. Ricardo Valencia walked to lead off the inning, and then Armando Alvantar executed a perfect hit and run to move Valencia to third. Carlos Gonzalez then singled him home.

The Angels took the lead in the sixth on Lance Rubio’s sacrifice fly and an RBI triple by Rudy Burruel. They then padded the lead with a five run seventh inning. Manny Garcia stroked a two-run double and Rubio added his second sacrifice fly of the game to highlight the rally.

The Pirates weren’t finished just yet. They scored thre runs in the bottom of the ninth inning and had the bases loaded before the final out of the game was made.

Pitching in relief of Orue, Chavarin pitched the final eight innings, giving up three runs on eight hits while striking out six. Manager Robert Oskin was impressed with his team’s victory, considering the amount of competition.

“The teams in this division were very tough, very competitive, we played against a couple of former minor leaguers, but overall this was a great team effort, everybody contributed.” He said.

Despite arm trouble, Orue was able to contribute offensively going 2-for-2 with an RBI. Cisco Vega notched three hits while Rubio had two RBI. Manny Garcia was 1-for-with 2 RBI.

The Angels lost 8-2 to the Stanislaus Indians in the 2012 finals, won the title in 2011 with a 16-11 w2in over the Las Vegas Senators, and tied 1-1 with the San Diego Knights in the 2010 finals of the Desert Classic.

Bottom row L-R: Rene Leon, Matt Olson, John Urrutia, Jason Kasten, Dean Childres, Dylan Goldstein and Paul Urrutia.  Top row L-R: Frank Perez, Jack Jordan, Andres Beruman, Dave Paveloff, Jim Gibbs, Jason Farmer and Rock Nava.